29 January 2008

22 January 2008

Posta Aerea 04


With the new year almost a month underway it is time once again to share our email with our readers. Today's selections include: competition call for entries, grant funding for architecture, and several new links for firm websites and other compelling design material.

01:: Competitions
The Architecture League of New York Young Architects Forum presents, Resonance 2008 (due February 11, 2008).

eVolo presents the 08-Skyscraper Competition (due February 26, 2008).

JELD-WEN presents the JELD-WEN Student Door Design Contest (due February 29, 2008).

The Storefront for Art and Architecture presents, White House Redux. (due April, 20, 2008).

ASHRAE presents the ASHRAE 2008 Design Project Competition (due May 9, 2008).

02:: Grants
A generous grant opportunity is being provided to our readers from the state of New York to fund professionals in the design, planning and historic preservation fields. The grant is funded by the Architecture, Planning and Design Program for the New York State Council on the Arts for up to $10,000.00.

03:: Interesting Links
SEI design group in Rochester, NY, USA

OOD-A is a Portuguese based architectural showcase site.

ARX Portugal Arquitectos located in Lisboa, Portugal

Check our sidebars for more architecture, modern design, urbanism and sustainability links.


11 January 2008

07 January 2008

Top 10 Urbanism Blogs


It is the beginning of 2008 and thus, time to review a few of our favorite sites as featured in our sidebars. Our first review centers around Urbanism blogs. The blogs are ranked in the order in which our editor finds them to be most relevant to the topic, by their visual appeal, and finally by the frequency in which they are updated. Of course this is a highly subjective selection and we welcome any comments or suggestions for blogs that we may not have featured here or elsewhere on our site.

01:: Where

"A blog about urban places, placemaking, and the concept of "place"." Clearly one of the most comprehensive blogs regarding urbanism, the site features images, articles, reviews and a myriad of other writings pertaining to the subject. As the author indicates on the site's homepage, "The professional planning and architecture communities are responsible for stewarding the most complicated -- and, in terms of day-to-day impact -- the most socially relevant area of the arts. But the importance of the work done in these fields is often overlooked by the public."

02:: Plataforma Urbana

Chilean blog regarding urbanism with a South American focus. The blog is a highly organized, visually stunning with an emphasis on quality writing as well as imagery and supporting diagrams.

03:: Urbanity

Spanish blog featuring excellent photography, articles and presentations of both the built and un-built urban environment.

04:: varnelis.net|network culture

Recently revamped, this blog authored by Kazys Varnelis (Director of Network Architecture Lab, Columbia University) provides critical, in-depth analysis of issues both relating to and shaping today's urbanism. The quality of the writing is among the best featured here.

05:: Rebuilding Place in the Urban Space

Produced by Washington, DC native Richard Layman the blog in the author's words, "...focuses on place and placemaking and all that makes it work--historic preservation, urban design, transportation, asset-based community development, arts & cultural development, commercial district revitalization, tourism & destination development, and quality of life advocacy--along with doses of civic engagement and good governance watchdogging." The site features articles on numerous happenings from both the DC metro area as well other urban regions in the United States.

06:: UNHOUSED

A blog devoted to exposing, exploring and providing solutions to many of the housing crises found around our planet. The breathtaking photographs found here are sure to provoke reactions that hopefully will lead to better living conditions for those affected. Alternatively, many interesting and thoughtful designs are showcased as solutions to the overall problem.

07:: blog like you give a damn

Official blog for Architecture for Humanity: Minnesota featuring excellent articles, photographs and news articles pertaining to their organization. A must read for those familar with this AFH and their works.

08:: Web Urbanist

A frequently visited site that features daily top photos, artworks, inventions, etc. that are both directly and indirectly related to urbanism. The tagline really says it all: urban design, culture, travel, architecture and alternative art.

09:: deputydog

Another mash-up style blog similar to Web Urbanist featuring photos, articles and "top" categories for your perusal and commentary.

10:: urban-ism

Urban-ism is a blog that not only features photographs, videos and articles on urbanism, but also gives architectural criticism on projects predominately found in Canada.



04 January 2008

Intriguing Earth Architecture 38


Bloch Building, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, Missouri, USA - Steven Holl Architects
via flickr: bryan.norwood


01 January 2008

Happy New Year


New Year Mosaic 2008

via flickr: maplemama

Thanks to all our readers in 2007! We are looking forward to peeking your interest again in the new year. Good Luck and Best Wishes in 2008!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...