30 April 2007

ArCaricature 101

Today we give a nod to architecture.mnp for turning us on to the epic Architecture drama being played out in satirical caricatures on the web. Surely everyone who has been or is an architectural student or intern can relate to the whimsical dialogue that is presented here.

Architecture Students in Hell Link
Intern Architects in Hell Link

27 April 2007

24 April 2007

World Architecture in 03:40

A short video collection of Architecture from around the World. Certain aspects of the cinematography remind me of seeing the sculptor Anish Kapoor's work in person.

23 April 2007

Call for Entries - Top 25 World's Worst Buildings

ecAr2.0 is calling for entries for nomination as "World's Worst Building". The nominees can be left under the comments for this post and will be disclosed after a two-three period of time. The candidates can be from anywhere in the world, single or multiple structures within a complex, or be S,M,L,XL (nod to OMA). The name and architect of the entry should accompany the post plus you may add one promotional link to your own site. Please keep your entries as succinct as possible. Thank you for your participation and may the worst (building) win.

20 April 2007

18 April 2007

Hadid Wins '07 Jefferson Medal in Architecture

Zaha Hadid is the latest recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Medal in Architecture. The award has been given in conjunction with the University of Virginia's School of Architecture since 1966. Hadid's work has been featured previously in our blog for her design of the 2012 Olympic Aquatic Center in London, England. A complete list of all medal recipients appears below in reverse chronological order:

1966 Mies van der Rohe
1967 Alvar Aalto
1968 Marcel Breuer
1969 John Ely Burchard
1970 Kenzo Tange
1971 Jose Luis Sert
1972 Lewis Mumford
1973 Jean Labatut
1974 Frei Otto
1975 Sir Nikolaus Pevsner
1976 I.M. Pei
1977 Ada Louise Huxtable
1978 Philip Johnson
1979 Lawrence Halprin
1980 Hugh A. Stubbins
1981 Edward Larrabee Barnes
1982 Vincent Scully
1983 Robert Venturi
1984 H.H. The Aga Khan
1985 Leon Krier
1986 James Stirling
1987 Romaldo Giurgola
1988 Dan Kiley
1989 Paul Mellon
1990 Fumihiko Maki
1991 John V. Lindsay
1992 Aldo Rossi
1993 Andres M. Duany & Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk
1994 Frank O. Gehry
1995 Ian L. McHarg
1996 Jane Jacobs
1997 Jaime Lerner
1998 Jaquelin T. Robertson
1999 Lord Richard Rogers
2000 Daniel Patrick Moynihan
2001 Glenn Murcutt
2002 James Turrell
2003 Tod Williams & Billie Tsien
2004 Peter Walker
2005 Shigeru Ban
2006 Peter Zumthor
2007 Zaha Hadid

Thomas Jefferson Foundation Link
UVa School of Architecture Link

14 April 2007

Gulf Coast Rebuild: Libeskind, Chapter Five

Final installment in a series of interesting architectural documentary videos discussing the ongoing rebuilding of the Gulf Coast Region of the United States following Hurricane Katrina. This episode features Libeskind with members of his studio discussing how their design provides a new opportunity for the community and children to interact with Architecture and each other.

Rockworks Link

13 April 2007

ecAr2.0 Among Top 25 Blogs

Image Courtesy of Iwan Baan
More of Iwan's Architectural Imagery can be found here.

Eikongraphia recently released its Mopo 2007 - Top 25 Architecture Blogs list and ecAr2.0 was among them. Also featured were several blogs that have been featured in our sidebars for some time. While it is flattering to be recognized, the hope is that ultimately our readers are able to obtain and enjoy a better understanding of the various aspects of our profession. To this end, ecAr2.0 will add any missing Top 25 blog members to our sidebars for your enjoyment within the next few days. Check them all out and please keep returning to our site.

11 April 2007

Intriguing Earth Architecture 07

Utrecht University Library Utrecht University Library, Utrecht, Netherlands - Wiel Arets